seaside – town – dumping – grounds

Being mum is just….Well today it’s a little lousy to be honest, I’ve had to fight Alfie every step of the way out this morning….From him having his breakfast – getting him dressed – his early morning burst of screams (5.20AM) – brushing his teeth, god that kid has been a complete nightmare! It’s like he woke up this morning and thought, “right! What can I do to wind my mummy up to the extreme on a Monday morning while she needs to get ready for work”

– So all this resulted in me having a mini break down on the way to work, oh and at work! YES THE TEARS OF A BROKEN MUMMY WERE FLOWING and now I feel like a complete dim wit and very embarrassed letting me work colleagues see the mental broken women inside me. Just to say normally I’m pretty good at putting a game face on, but the last straw came when Alfie started kicking the door to my car and taking 15 minutes to get him buckled in – because I didn’t let him open the gate, then arriving at my mums, the buggy wouldn’t steer properly in the hall so he decided to ram it into the wall and stamp on it, then hit me because he felt like it but the silver lining is, on days like today, I know I’m off on holiday in TWO WEEKS! So only TWO MORE WEEKS of Alfie-ness and his terrible ways, hitting, punching, biting…….! YEP HE’S STARTED BITING L then a week of bliss! Rhodes here we come….. Sun, Sea, Alcohol, Alcohol and NOOOOOO KIDS!!!!!!

Now don’t get me wrong if the kids were older we would be looking to take them abroad with us but ours are 2 ½ and Andy’s 3 ½. Now some mums may look at me and think I’m selfish but after the terrible year I’ve had so far I think I deserve it. Me and Andy work hard, our kids don’t go without, are well dressed and all we are getting in return at the moment is stress, tantrums (over the silliest things) day in and day out. So yep we decide to go abroad with two of our friends, mums having Alfie (good luck mum ;-)) and I’m going to relax and enjoy a week of me time! After my mini breakdown this morning when arriving at work….I think it is much needed!

But reading the Daily Mail today, you can tell why most people go abroad on holiday – I mean the heading the article says it all really and then you click to read and there’s a massive advert for British Airways and cheap flights, made me chuckle at the irony of it really…..!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2384597/Our-seaside-town-dumping-grounds-Faded-resorts-filled-workless-cost-2bn-benefits.html

We’re thinking of taking the kids to Butlins for a weekend in September which I’m pretty scared at the thought of, but like Andy keeps telling me……..ok I can’t remember as I just block it out when he says Kids, Weekend and holiday in one sentences but I can tell you one things for sure….we won’t be going anywhere named in these articles…..! So good one daily mail…..you have made everyone realise why we won’t be taking our families to the places in your article 🙂 and saved me the hassle of researching a nice place to go on our family weekend away! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

