Park Lane Gypsies – Is this the start?

Being mum is just…..well terrifying at the moment. Please don’t judge me but I’ve just read up on the Park Lane Gypsies in the Daily Mail. Now i know i shouldn’t believe everything i read in the news paper but still….it is pretty worrying that Romanian gypsies have already started to form make shift camps….when our borders are going to be open to them in January (again Daily Mail reporting, yes I’m a daily mail addict ha)

Now don’t get me wrong i feel really really sorry for these people, i mean to live in a poverty-stricken country they must be desperate to come here and live in parks and fields in hope of a better life but now it’s a catch twenty-two!! The are begging, pick pocketing and stealing – bad for surrounding businesses, bad for people who have worked for their money and out shopping, I’d be gutted if i was pick pocketed….My Alfie’s Nan was just before they went to Spain! The money i had given her to get Alfie some bits was stolen out of her bag when she was pushing Alfie around the shopping center…..

One of the comments in the article really riled me up! “they are waiting for the authorities to get them jobs and houses to live in” my mind just goes to the people who were born here (doesn’t matter to me about nationality, race, religion because in my eyes if you was born here in England then you have a right to live and be happy here it’s not like you have chosen to come here! I’m sure babies didn’t come out the womb saying “oh mummy can we move please?” ) BUT there are homeless people, children living in poverty already living here as well. One minute the government is cutting back on tax credits and putting benefits cap in place but on the other hand opening our borders to more people who live in poverty-stricken countries….Fine if they can work and pay into the system to bring our country back to what it once was but there’s not enough jobs for those already here or housing!!!!

Being a working mum, going back to work when Alfie was 4 months old, paying into the system, trust me i could have more disposable income being a stay at home mum on benefits rather than working….so i chose to work, not for financial gain but because i wanted to, that’s the type of mum i am, those mums who stay at home, i admire you because i couldn’t do it! it’s a 24 hour job, at least i get a break for 5 hours from my constant leg huger, πŸ™‚ I love my son but I’m not a stay at home kind of person…… that’s just me!

So yes I’m terrified for what the future holds for my baby living in this country and hence the reason his dad wants me to get him Spanish lessons when he’s properly talking so he can have more opportunities!

Another example is, i know a little boy who is four, started nursery and hated it, his mum couldn’t get him on the bus to nursery and he was having massive fits! she finally got him to calm down and sat with him at nursery to find that, out of the class of 25 only 3 toddlers could speak English fluently…. he was being left out and, not bullied, but the other kids didn’t know how to play with him properly because of the language barrier and more toddlers knowing their language than he did! just heart breaking!

it would be great to have your comments on this! I haven’t put any images in as I didn’t think this would be right.

Leave a Reply

